Carving out a new commission

I met Susi through a mutual friend. (Interesting aside: when does a friend of a friend become a friend? Because the friend who introduced me to Susi was someone I met through another friend. And that friend was someone I met through my meditation group. So what is the magic that transforms all these people into friends? And how do you know it’s happened? And what if it happens for you and you think they’re a friend but they don’t think that way and to them you’re just an acquaintance or a connection? What happens then?)

I digress (frequently).

Susi is an artist, a painter, a Peruvian, a divorced lady living alone, a mother, a cat-lover. I met her first at a networking group organised by a mutual friend (don’t get me started again) and she asked me to create a website for her. And after that she invited me to her exhibition opening in Bury St Edmunds. It was a lively event, and she introduced me to lots of people, including her former tutor at Cambridge School of Art, Anglia Ruskin University, the sculptor Douglas Jeal.

A few days later he called me to ask if I would be interested in creating a website for him, and I visited him at the university. I made a day of it because I went there from the 4networking meeting and after I saw him I met up with an old friend from Cambridge, a lady I haven’t seen for over a year since she came to my flat re-warming party (that’s another story).

Douglas is a sculptor and studied at the St Martin’s College of Art in the sixties. We reminisced about student days (mine were a little later than his, but time telescopes after a while), bemoaned the depoliticisation of the current student generation, and wondered about whatever happened to the women’s movement. And looked at images of his works and discussed the aesthetics and practicalities of web design.

It was a good day, and I’m looking forward to working with him.

About lindahadfield

Graphic designer, web designer, desk top publisher, mother, grandmother and incurable blogger.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment